Been lovin’ the Starkey EP Space Traitor Vol 1 and been rinsin’ it for the past few months.

I’m very proud and honoured to be able to offer the following remix track as an exclusive free download to you.

Robot Hands  (Kaiser Remix)


Also today is the day that Starkey is joining the Daily Dose of Dubstep dj’s in rotation on 1Xtra from 9-10pm GMT all week long.  He’ll be on every other Monday 9-10pm GMT starting today!

Going back to the EP, if you have not checked it out already, get a taste of it via this fantastic preview mix below and whilst you’re listening to it, read the PR too:

Space Traitor Vol 1 (preview) by starkey

For those who dismiss future-bass genres as being composed solely of abrasive &/or artless sounds, and for the others that assume the bottom-heavy producers only come from London, once again Philadelphia’s hotly tipped grime/dubstep/ambient/classical/all-in-the-box innovator Starkey steps forward to defy both claims entirely. His latest intergalactic sonic expedition, ‘Space Traitor Vol 1’ – the first of two EPs – comes hot on the heels of his acclaimed feat ‘Ear Drums And Black Holes,’ a wide-ranging album released earlier this year.

‘Space Traitor Vol, 1’ is a bold piece of work that marks another step forward in the expansion of his high definition, sci-fi ‘street bass’ sound. Conceptually and musically, the EP takes the listener to astral heights, allowing a futuristic narrative (written by the artist himself) to lace the symphonic chapters together.

Starkey explains: “The concept kind of follows the “Starkbot Beats” story that I’ve been doing for quite some time now. It started with a skit I did for the Werk Discs Grim FM compilation, and I just kind of ran with it…. using my monikers as characters in this science fiction comic book like story. But to hear the story about the “space traitor” title, people will have to pick up the release.”

Throughout the 5 adventure-laced tracks, each as unique and versatile as the last, the adept sound architect builds the slamming drums of hard-edged hip-hop atop of the glowering underbelly of future dubstep, and paints the surface with smoothed-out robo-funk and glistening melodies. Parts may be disregarded as club-focused throttlers or bassbin dwellers, but the softer side of Starkey comes playing through, showing a masterful understanding of composition: layering, dynamics, tonality, dissonance and harmonics.

The opening atmospheric sounds of the EP’s lead track, ‘Robot Hands,’ give way to juddering beats and immersive, scything bass that buzzes with weight. Be warned that the full-bodied, intricately layered sounds may get lost in tinny speakers. Filtering into the sparser ‘Playing With Fire,’ complete with glorious skyscraping synths, the sounds move deep into the playful head-nodder ‘Holodeck,’ where anxious, looped strings flap wildly between an elephantine bassline and ominous orchestral builds one moment, and sweeping rose-tinted pads the next. Starkey depressurizes the cabin for a free-floating escape into bliss, ‘Paradise,’ featuring the ethereal voice of his previous collaborator, Brighton-based vocalist Anneka, and the release comes to a cinematic close with the shimmering, widescreen ‘Lenses.’

“I wanted ‘Space Traitor’ to be a compliment to the ‘Ear Drums and Black Holes’ album, which I dropped earlier this year on Planet Mu. For me, this is a bit more raw and more immediate than the ‘Ear Drums…’ album.  There’s still a lot of depth to the production, but it’s more about the raw beat and energy, and less about composing epic tracks that have layer upon layer of information. I suppose it’s a bit more grime influenced, or in particular 8-bar. Of course I can’t keep things too simple, but I guess it’s my attempt at trying to capture moments of inspiration.” – Starkey

The release additionally comes equipped with six equally heavy and adventurous remixes from the likes of Night Slugs’ Egyptrixx and fellow Planet Mu artist Rudi Zygaldo.

Space Traitor Vol 1 is available from 6th December both digitally and on 12” vinyl which will includes a free 12 track CD version of the release. Vol 2 is due out in early 2011. Both installments will be released by London-based independent label Civil Music, home to dEbruit, Drums Of Death, Reso and others.


A1 – Robot Hands

A2 – Playing With Fire

B1 – Holodeck

B2 – Paradise ft. Anneka

5 – Lenses

6 – Robot Hands (Egyptrixx Remix)

7 – Robot Hands (Kaiser Remix)

8 – Paradise (Rudi Zygadlo Remix)

9 – Pradise (ARP101 Remix)

10 – Paradise (+Verb Remix)

11 – Playing With Fire (Ital Tek Remix)

12 – Starkbot Beats: Space Traitor Vol 1 (narration by Halfcast)

Leave a Reply