Spinstyles is a Kansas City, Missouri native that’s holding a city in his hands. I had the pleasure of seeing him play out twice while I was there a few weeks ago, and he dropped me most of the tracks that landed on this release at some out of the way dive bar we got invited to play at together with 2 hours notice. It’s a pleasure to see that someone can be so talented and so humble at the same time, and he is seriously one of a small handful of DJ’s that seem to REALLY matter in that city. His movement is obviously on the national radar if Mad Decent co-signs it, but he explained to me that this is a ‘teaser’. This is simply an introduction to his work. Quite the introduction.
From a production standpoint, these edits aren’t extremley complex. They are executed perfectly though. Spinstyles already has DJ’s circulating locked tracks behind his back (I’ve been sorted a link for the “Ballin” and “I’m On One” edits at least a couple dozen times in the last month). I think the selections on this mix get progressively better, which pushes a listener to play the entire mix. The original tracks with Kansas City rappers point all fingers to legitimate releases in the next few months, and I’ll be sure to keep everyone posted on his movements.

Stream / Download

Spinstyles – “The First 48″ (Mad Decent X Overthrow)
1. “The First 48” intro
2. Spinstyles ft. Kutt Calhoun “Stop Frontin”
3. Ace Hood “Hustle Hard” Spinstyles Remix
4. YC ft. Future “Racks” Spinstyles Remix
5. Spinstyles ft. Bizzy “ILL”
6. Plies “Let’s Get It” Spinstyles Remix
7. Lil Wayne ft. Rick Ross “John” Spinstyles Remix
8. Jeezy ft. Lil Wayne “Ballin” Spinstyles Remix
9. Dj Khaled ft. Drake, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne “I’m On One” Spinstyles Remix

Leave a Reply